Let the success of others be an inspiration, not a discouragement

There’s a woman I know. She’s living the dream. She just landed the job of a lifetime and she is thriving. It blends perfectly with her life as a mom, allowing her to move up in her household income and she is pretty much walking on air.

I can see her posts and seethe. Why does she get to have it all? Why am I not there yet? If she’s made it and I haven’t, maybe I should just give up.

I don’t.

In the past, I might have. In the past when I thought life was happening to me, instead of being what I made it.

When I see her posts, I feel my heart swell. She is a wonderful woman and she has struggled, but neither of those things really matter. What matters is that she is full of joy. She is making it.

And so can I.

There are agents and publishers I follow on twitter, constantly announcing new clients, new publications, new successes. It would be easy for me to say “Why not me?! I’ll never be there!”

But every one of those authors spent time in the trenches. Every one of them struggled with their craft. And every one of them deserves to be walking on air.

I am proud of them. I am honored to hear about their success. I am rooting for them, each and every one. If they can do it, so can I.

Success is not a limited resource. It is there for all of us, every single person who is brave enough to keep striving for their dreams. It might take a while, but if you want it, keep your eye on the prize. View the success of those around you as proof that it is attainable and it will be yours.

Have a great weekend.

2 thoughts on “Let the success of others be an inspiration, not a discouragement

  1. I get this. We all go through times of doubt but thanks for sharing such a positive attitude. It was a much needed reminder for me. Happy Wednesday:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

