What’s harder than writing a novel? Writing a speech for your brother’s wedding.

My brother’s wedding date has been set for 9 months. I’ve had 9 months where ideas for what I wanted to say have rattled around in my head. I’ve written a novel, two short stories, and countless blog posts since then. But not a wedding speech. Not until this morning, the day of his wedding.

My heart is so full today and words just want to spew out in a big jumbled mess. I could wing it, but that would probably just look like a weepy pile of goo with a few vaguely insulting jokes that came out wrong.

But damn this is hard. In a novel I have setting, mood, inner monologues and 200+ pages to get the sentiment just right. And someone my characters are so much more eloquent than I am. They always know the right thing to say, the right way to say it. They say things that are very profound and moving.

So far my best line is “I can’t express how happy I am to be here today.” WTF is that? Such a cliche.

So wish me luck today friends. My little brother is marrying one of the best women I have ever met, and I can’t express how happy I am to be there.

Some writer I am. 🙂

*UPDATE: Nailed it. Managed to even make the staff cry.

Leave a Reply

