When I awaken to the changes

Now I lay me down to sleep

I’ll bite down on my fears

The deeper waters taking back

potential in coming years

A path closed off forever now

no longer mine to keep

I’ll try to give it willingly

as I lay down to sleep

I have two arms to hold what’s mine

I have one heart to share

Two arms for two should be enough

So why am I still scared?

These murky waters forcing change

and ebb at my belief

but gently they will hold me there

and wash away my grief

Three hearts that I have kept inside

Three hearts are all I’ll hold

Two hearts to treasure for all time

One heart does as it’s told

I pray the Lord, my soul to keep

and teach my heart to shine

when I awaken to the changes

I pray the Lord, my soul to guide.

 

Leave a Reply

