How do you write through stress?

When I was struggling through my senior year at college, I didn’t write. When I was working full time at my first design job and had no idea what I was doing, I didn’t write. When I was languishing in a thankless job, I didn’t write. Fighting through the first year of marriage, the first year of motherhood, health problems, financial problems, grief, pressure and worry, I didn’t write.

Life gets hard sometimes and while many people might take to writing as an outlet, for me, that well runs dry when I am stressed. Other outlets exists but I long to put my fingers to the keyboard and create a story. Instead I stare at a blank screen, separated from the truest source of my relief. Any forced attempts are more disheartening than helpful.

So I would love to know what other writers do.

Can you be creative when you are stressed out?

Is there a way you can write when the juices are busy working through some problem?

2 thoughts on “How do you write through stress?

  1. That’s a tough one. When I am stressed, it usually means I don’t have time to sit in front of the computer – there are more important matters to attend to. And the other stress reliever, the gym, also goes by the wayside. However, I think the point is not being too hard on yourself. We all experience those times of stress when writing is the last thing that flows from our fingertips. Have you tried yoga? Meditation? Bubble baths with a good book? Saying no to some demands? Make time for yourself to relax, not write. Find another way to de-stress, something to calm your soul and open your writing floodgates.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

