Why I am self publishing an older novel

I finished the first draft of “Fate of a Princess” years back and every time I come back to it I’m pleasantly surprised. It’s fun, it’s light, it’s entertaining. It needs work and that’s why I haven’t done much with it until now, but in my humble opinion it’s pretty damned enjoyable.

With some hard work, some help from friends and fellow writers and alot of humility, I am willing to throw it out the window into the world of self publishing. I like it alot. I think it could fly.

But I am willing to let it fall.

This past spring I finished a first draft of a novel that I love. It is my best work. I am crazy psyched about it.

It won’t be ready for a long time.

I am an impatient person. I tend to throw myself head first into things instead of taking the time to make sure I do it all right. But this novel, I want to do it right. I want it refined to perfection. I want to gather a team that will be as psyched about it as I am to ensure it gets to an audience that will be psyched about it too.

So to keep myself from rushing through a revision and sending it to every agent I can find, I went back to “Fate of a Princess” and started getting it ready. I do not have the resources I hope to have for my latest rough draft. Everything I do is a learning process. I am not willing to make these mistakes with my future work. I need to figure out what they are this time around. I need to learn how the self publishing world works.

I am excited about “Fate of a Princess”. I think when it is ready it will be a really fun book. But I have learned over the years that I know far less than I think, so I am using it to get my feet wet. To get my name out there.

I hope that it flies. I really do.

2 thoughts on “Why I am self publishing an older novel

Leave a Reply

