For my love

(an anniversary poem for my wonderful husband)

There are brambles tearing at my skin

to be cleared away before we begin

I chose this path with you

I plan to see it through.

There are rocks and roots to twist my feet

And boggy marsh where waters meet

I chose this path with you

I plan to see it through

There are hills and mountains, cliffs and crags

Weary achy swollen legs

wild storms and pelting hail

and sometimes I think I might fail

but valleys lush and green prevail

and soft blue lakes that we just sail

I can break and I can heal

I can climb and I can kneel

and wait out storms for skies so blue

I chose this path with you

I plan to see it through

Leave a Reply

