5 Fantasies that you need to read

I’m a little burnt out on editing. I may take the weekend off to do some reading. While I’m trying to select a fantasy to read, I’m mentally running down the books that stick out in my mind. There are some obvious choices, The Song of Fire and Ice Series, The Mists of Avalon, and The Lord of the Rings. But if you’re looking for something you may not have heard of, check out my list of five favorites below.

 5 Fantasies that you need to read:

The Last Unicorn

As a child I binge watched the 1982 movie and obsessed about unicorns. As an adult I got my hands on the book was was enchanted all over again. Beagle has an ethereal style that submerges you in the story of a Unicorn who seeks out the others of her kind and comes to learn of the human emotions she disdained. It’s beautiful. Read it.

The Bitterbynde Trilogy

Years after I finished this series I was compelled to email Cecilia Dart-Thornton and let her know just how her series moved me. The last page of the last novel had me sobbing in the back room of my short order cook job. The lovely woman wrote me back thanking me for the compliment. The series follows a mute protagonist who has been horrifically scarred as she navigates a dangerous world that has been abandoned by the fairies.

The Kingdom of Thorn and Bone Series

Greg Keyes doesn’t just create an entirely unique high fantasy world, but he bases it on one of the greatest mysteries in American history. What happened to the people of Roanoke, VA? Following various heroes (and one of the most awesome heroines I’ve come across in fantasy) as the world around them teeters on the edge of doom.
This series contains one of my favorite love quotes “Being with you is like being alone, but better.”

Of Bees and Mist

A very human story set in a world where magic is commonplace. Erick Setiawan introduces the mother of all evil mother in laws in this hauntingly realistic tale of family relationships.

The Bridge of Birds: A Novel of Ancient China that Never Was

A simple Chinese peasant sets out to save his town from a plague and inadvertently becomes tangled in a century long battle between Gods and monsters. Infused with as much humor as terror and love, the Bridge of Birds is a classic that needs to be read.

Leave a Reply

